Ten years ago…

Ten years ago today, a 21 year old girl stepped off a British airways flight at Lusaka International Airport. The heat was intense, but arriving from a wintery Sweden it was a nice change. As she had grown bored and felt stuck in a rut in Sweden, she had come out to Zambia to work for six month at an orphanage. Little did she know back then that she would still be in the same country ten years on, writing a blog post about it!

I can’t get my head around the fact that I’ve been here ten years! It was obviously love that made me stay, I fell not only for a warm and friendly culture but also a man… I met my husband the very day I landed in this country  and we married the following year. Moving to a continent that is so different from home was a process, and I might still be in it. But this is home now, my children only know Zambia as their home and I would be very sad if we ever had to leave. I stepped off that plane a shy young girl, looking to broaden my horizon, ten years on I’m a wife and mother of four heading for my middle-age…!

Together with the children at the orphanage where I spent my first six month in Zambia
Together with the children at the orphanage where I spent my first six month in Zambia
My zambian kitchen party
My zambian kitchen party
About to become mrs Eriksson
About to become mrs Eriksson
I became a mother in july 2006
I became a mother in july 2006
I opened my nursery school in 2009
I opened my nursery school in 2009
My parents have had to get used to travelling to Zambia to see the grandchildren
My parents have had to get used to travelling to Zambia to see the grandchildren
We've tried to keep up the Swedish traditions, here celebrating "Lucia" with the cousines
We’ve tried to keep up the Swedish traditions, here celebrating “Lucia” with the cousins
I'm now I proud mother of this bunch!
I’m now a proud mother of this bunch!
Ten years on! Mr and Mrs!
Ten years on! Mr and Mrs!
8 thoughts on “Ten years ago…

  1. hello elina,
    great blog with brilliant photography! my family and i are moving out to zambia at the end of this month and reading your blog has been really helpful to get a better idea of life out there. thanks for all your work with it. i was wondering if it would be possible to contact you with a few questions esp. concerning daily life with young children in zambia and hospitals.
    Thank you and God bless you,
    Nadine

    1. Hi! Great that my blog has been informative, thanks for reading! I don’t mind helping people with info so I’ll drop you an email and then you can ask any question!

Leave a Reply

