Let them read books!

There’s a saying that goes something like this: “If you want to hide something from an African, hide it in a book.” That’s to say Africans never read. However, that is an old saying and times have changed. But not so much in the villages unfortunately, where few families even own any books. Books for most people are for school and it ends there. So the children in my nursery school are very unlikely to have books read to them in their homes. It is therefore fun to see how they enjoy looking in the books we have. I read for them and they listen, despite not understanding more than a few English words. And I hope that I have managed to awaken in them an interest for reading that they’ll carry with them as they grow.

Children enjoying books
Children enjoying books in my class
5 thoughts on “Let them read books!

  1. Oh, so good that you read to them! My husband still remembers the stories read to him in school when he was small. And they were in Bemba. Maybe you can find books in Bemba?

    1. There are very few Bemba books available, but that could be a good addition, only I can’t read them… And I’m hoping to teach them some english with the books I read to them. They really do enjoy listening and love the colourful pictures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

