My favorite chocolate cake!

Usually it’s on the weekends that I decide to bake something extra nice for the family. So this last weekend I baked my favorite chocolate cake – “Kladdkaka” or “Sticky cake”. I know the recipe by heart, it’s that simple. Did I say I’m a lazy baker? Well, I once tried making a French chocolate cake with real chocolate and like three different mixing bowls going and at the end of it I didn’t feel that the difference in taste matched the extra hassle. But this recipe is effortless and with a yummy result every time!

Just melt 100 gram margarine in a medium size pot, pull it off the heat (use some of the margarine to grease a round pan 25 cm across), stir in 2 eggs, 3 dl sugar, 5 tbsp. cocoa, 2 tbsp. cold coffee, 1 tbsp. vanilla essence and finally 1,5 dl flour. Pour into pan and bake for 25 min on 175 C (it should be soft and mushy in the middle). Serve with whipped cream, vanilla ice cream or custard.

Swedish recipes (and therefore mine as well) are always in deciliters (dl =100 ml), that way you never really need to use a kitchen scale. You’ll have to live with that, but here is a quick way of converting it to grams: 1 dl sugar = 85 gram, 1 dl flour = 60 gram.

IMG_2013
Just mix everything together, my kind of baking!

IMG_2027

IMG_2025

IMG_2017
My helper in the kitchen…

One thought on “My favorite chocolate cake!

Leave a Reply

