School opening

This is my third year opening my preschool for the children on the farm. It has been closed since April last year due to lack of classroom and I had a baby in July. I opened the school last week and 13 children to the staff that live on the farm came. The children are between 3 and 5 years old. This time I think the challange will be bigger than before since a couple of the little ones have extreme difficulties concentrating and sitting still. I´m pretty sure at least one of the small boys would get a diagnosis of some kind had he lived in Sweden. We are now occupying a house with two small rooms where I´ve put a big rug in one and table and chairs in the other. That way the little ones can play with cars or building blocks while I try to teach the bigger ones some english words, numbers, colours or something else. But first we all sit together and sing a couple of simple songs and practice som basic words. Altough they don´t speak english they really try their hardest to follow in the songs. My “salary” is to see the children make progress and I can feel that it is making a diffrence in their lives. And it also warms to hear them happily call “teacher, teacher” the moment they see me!

Det är nu tredje året jag drar igång min förskola för barnen här på gården. Vi har dock haft uppehåll sen i april i fjor på grund av lokalbrist och bebis för min del. Jag öppnade skolan förra veckan och 13  barn till de anställda som bor i personalbostäderna  kom. Barnen är mellan 3 och 5 år gamla. Denna gång är nog utmaningen större än tidigare då ett par av de mindre barnen har extremt svårt för att sitta stilla och koncentrera sig. Det hade nog blivit en bokstavskombination till åtminstonde en liten kille om han hade bott i Sverige!  Vi är nu inhysta i ett hus med två små rum, där jag lagt ut en stor matta i det ena och har bord och stolar i det andra. På så vis kan de mindre få leka med klossar eller bilar medan jag försöker lära de större siffror, engelska ord, färger eller något annat. Men först sitter alla tillsammans då vi sjunger några enkla sånger och tränar lite bas ord. Trots att de inte pratar engelska så gör de sitt bästa för att följa med i sångerna. Min “lön” är att se barnen göra framsteg och jag kan känna att det gör en skillnad i deras liv. Och så värmer det när barnen får syn på mig och ropar glatt “teacher, teacher”!
Leave a Reply

